The American Miniature Horse

 

It is a breed of miniature horses that originated in the United States. Fruit of the crossing of several breeds of small horses or ponies (Shetlands, Welsh Mountain, Arabian Thoroughbred ...), the breed has been stabilized since the 1950s.

 

It measures on average between 78 and 86 cm and must be the replica of a horse in reduced size; well proportioned . It is therefore possible to meet several "types" of minis, thus similar to breeds of light horses (Spanish, Arab, Quarter ...), which makes the breeding of these horses all the more interesting. Miniature horses take 90% of their size in the first year , this express growth requires serious dietary monitoring in order to avoid deficiencies.

Here is a table of the average AMHA growth curve:

In addition, the miniature horse has exactly the same needs as a large horse , only the proportions change. Like any equine, he is particularly gregarious and needs a friend to be happy. Just like a hectare for a large one, it takes around 1500 m²  of land for a mini.

 

Not to be confused :

  • Falabella , originally from Argentina: there are actually only 1,500 in the world (against more than 300,000 for AMHA) . The term is commonly used in riding to talk about small horses but it is rare to come across real ones. And more damagingly, some merchants appropriate the name in order to belly more expensive ponies without papers or origins.

  • The Toy-Horse , originally from England: from the BMHS register, there are few in France. He is heavier in frame than the American.

  • The Mini-Shetland , originally from the Shetland Islands: this is the smallest size section of the famous Shetland Pony.

 

The received ideas :

  • They are horses before they are minis

  • Living inside houses is absolutely not suitable for them

  • They are not the result of genetic manipulation

  • They are not "dwarfs". Dwarfism is a defect that conscientious breeders try to eradicate and which is characterized by hydrocephalus, balance problems and birth defects. Most often the cause is too much consanguinity which ends in the premature death of the affected individual.

 

It is the first breed of miniature horses recognized by the National Studs!

We are often asked what can this be used for ?! Has "nothing" in itself except to bring you happiness. Otherwise all equestrian disciplines are accessible to him except riding of course! In addition, the miniature horse shows itself particularly voluntary and gifted in Work on foot (lead, long reins, ethology, etc.), Obstacle in hand, Dressage / Show, Driving, Skiing or Roller joering or even in Equitherapy.

To have a miniature horse is to have a horse in order to ... have a horse. And not having a horse to ride on it. And this distinction changes everything about our relationship with animals and the relationship that we can build with them.

 

You should know that a mini can pull between 2 and 3 times its weight and weighs on average a hundred kilos; this therefore leaves you with good prospects as to its capabilities!

Work on foot

Long reins

Longues rênes cheval miniature
Longues rênes cheval miniature

Obstacles in hand

Obstacle cheval miniature
Longues rênes cheval miniature

Coupling

Obstacle cheval miniature
Longues rênes cheval miniature

Ski-Roller Joering

© Réalisé par Céline LETORT - 2015 Tous droits réservés.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Le Cheval Miniature Américain

 

C'est une race de chevaux miniatures originaire des Etats-Unis. Fruit du croisement de plusieurs races de petits chevaux ou poneys (Shetlands, Welsh Mountain, Pur-sang Arabe...), la race est stabilisée depuis les années 1950.

 

Il mesure en moyenne entre 78 et 86 cm et doit être la réplique d'un cheval en taille réduite ; bien proportionné. Il est donc possible de rencontrer plusieurs "types" de minis, s'apparentant ainsi aux races de chevaux légers (Espagnols, Arabe, Quarter...), ce qui rend l'élevage de ces chevaux d'autant plus intéressant. Les chevaux miniatures prennent 90% de leur taille la première année, cette croissance express nécessite un suivi alimentaire sérieux afin d'éviter les carences.

Voici un tableau de la courbe de croissance moyenne des AMHA :

Par ailleurs, le cheval miniature présente exactement les mêmes besoins qu'un cheval de grande taille, seules les proportions changent. Comme tout équidé, il est particulièrement grégaire et a besoin d'un copain pour être heureux. A l'image d'un hectare pour un grand, il faut compter environ 1500 m² de terrain pour un mini.

 

A ne pas confondre :

  • Le Falabella, originaire d'Argentine : il n'en existe en réalité que 1500 dans le monde (contre plus de 300 000 pour l'AMHA). Le terme est couramment utilisé en équitation pour parler de petits chevaux mais il est rare d'en croiser des vrais. Et de façon plus dommageable, certains marchands s'approprient l'appellation afin de ventre plus cher des poneys sans papiers ni origines.

  • Le Toy-Horse, originaire d'Angleterre : du registre BMHS, on en trouve peu en France. Il est plus lourd d'ossature que l'américain.

  • Le Mini-Shetland, originaire des Iles Shetlands : il s'agit de la plus petite section de taille du célèbre Poney shetland.

 

Les idées reçues :

  • Ce sont des chevaux avant d'être des minis

  • Vivre à l'intérieur des maisons ne leur convient absolument pas

  • Ils ne sont pas issus de manipulations génétiques

  • Ils ne sont pas "nains". Le nanisme est une tare que les éleveurs consciencieux tentent d'éradiquer et qui se caractérise par une hydrocéphalie, des problèmes d'aplombs et des malformations congénitales. Le plus souvent la cause est une trop forte consanguinité qui se conclue par la mort prématurée de l'individu atteint.

 

C'est la première race de chevaux miniatures reconnues par les Haras Nationaux !

On nous demande souvent à quoi cela peut-il servir ?! A "rien" en soi si ce n'est vous apporter du bonheur. Autrement toutes les disciplines équestres lui sont accessibles hormis la monte évidemment ! En outre, le cheval miniature se montre particulièrement volontaire et doué en Travail à pied (longe, longues rênes, éthologie, etc), Obstacle en main, Dressage/Spectacle, Attelage, Ski ou Roller joering ou encore en Equithérapie.

Avoir un cheval miniature, c'est avoir un cheval pour... avoir un cheval. Et non avoir un cheval pour monter dessus. Et cette distinction change tout de notre rapport à l'animal et de la relation que l'on peut construire avec lui.

 

Il faut savoir qu'un mini peut tirer entre 2 et 3 fois son poids et pèse en moyenne une centaine de kilos ; cela vous laisse donc de belles perspectives quant à ses capacités !

Travail à pieds

Longues rênes

Obstacles en main

Attelage

Ski-Roller Joering