In regards to

 

Having been alongside the equine world for "always", it was in 2007 that we fell in love

of the American Miniature Horse and decided to acquire one. Very quickly, it was the work of the mini that caught our attention and the selection of our breeders was made with this in mind.

 

We have chosen our horses above all for their sporting model and their balanced mentality .

They live in herds, in the meadow all year round with hay when needed and flaked cereals when necessary (pregnant mare, growing young, etc.).

Our horses are color tested when necessary (especially for the Frame Overo gene or Silver) as well as for Dwarfism .  It is a genetic disease that particularly affects miniature horses. It is usually caused by inbreeding and today researchers have isolated 4 mutations in the main gene " Dwarfism ACAN D1, D2, D3 & D4 ". While the AMHA breeding herd is mostly free of affected individuals, a large number of healthy carrier miniature horses remain.  Which, crossed together, have a 25% chance of producing a horse with dwarfism. 

Testing is therefore a guarantee of  serious  transparency, and allows  illuminated crossings.

We do not hide anything from  qualities and faults of our horses. The teeth of those for sale are systematically photographed in order to give you a precise idea of the state of the teeth. Although our breeders don't have to worry about teething, we are never safe from an "accident".

The reproduction is done in freedom or in hand when necessary, the configuration of our breeding allows us to always have an eye on our herds and thus to assiduously note the dates of heat and jumps. Our mares foal under surveillance. We start to bring them in about 1 month before the presumed foaling date in order to monitor the evolution of the udder and other factors (shape of the belly, behavior in the box ...). An infrared camera and a "Breeder alert" system allow us to limit as much as possible the risk of absence during foaling.

As a general rule, our mares make 2 foals in a row before taking a year off during which they are put back to work . We believe that a brood mare in good health, followed annually by an osteopath and building regularly (back, abdomen, rump ...) is a future mother who will have an easier time foaling because her body will have been carefully prepared for it. In addition, this gradual return to work also allows us to consolidate our relations with them and thus have serene and confident mares at birth and during lactation.

 

Other treatments are similar to those provided for horses of all other breeds.

In addition, minis are not fragile animals, they do not contract more disease than large horses and are very hardy.

 

All of our horses or foals are present on our site in order to maintain a

perfect transparency vis-à-vis our breeding. Our photographs are not retouched, and our horses are not conditioned (under-nutrition, installation of neck wrap or bodysweat ...). They are worked on foot in a traditional way, with respect and understanding of the animal.

Cheval miniature ski-joering
Box cheval miniature

Our facilities

 

We currently have 2 ha 7 divided into several plots. Our AMHAs enjoy 5 paddocks of around 2500 m²  + one of 5000 m²  which allow us to make a rotation to have weed a little more than 6 months a year. In addition, we have set up a small foaling paddock in front of the house to take out the mares and their newborn foals the first days. Our horses live in the meadow all year round and returned to the stalls in the event of strong storms or several weeks before and after birth for the broodmares. Being located at an altitude of 930 m , we take advantage of abundant snow in which horses love to play. They only returned if the cumulative snowfall in winter exceeds 40 cm.

 

A stable of nearly 200 m²  is glued to the house, which allows us  to have about ten mini boxes including two foaling boxes (approx. 8 m²) equipped with cameras and 8 boxes of 6 m², in the long term we would also like to have two boxes for our grown-ups.

 

Our paddocks are fenced in wood / electric tape or sheep netting / electric tape to avoid running away as much as possible and thus ensure the safety and comfort of our horses.

We benefit from a 15 x 25 m quarry which allows us to work our horses and those in boarding or breaking through throughout the year.

Pré cheval miniature
Ecurie cheval miniature

© Réalisé par Céline LETORT - 2015 Tous droits réservés.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

A Propos

 

Côtoyant le monde équin depuis "toujours", c'est en 2007 que nous sommes tombés amoureux

du Cheval Miniature Américain et avons décidé d'en acquérir un. Très vite, c'est le Travail du mini qui attire notre attention et la sélection de nos reproducteurs s'est faite dans cette optique.

 

Nous avons choisis nos chevaux avant tout pour leur modèle sportif et leur mental équilibré.

Ils vivent en troupeau, au pré toute l'année avec du foin au besoin et des céréales floconnées lorsque cela est nécessaire (jument gestante, jeunes en croissance...).

Nos chevaux sont testés Couleur lorsque cela s'impose (notamment pour le gène Frame Overo ou le Silver) ainsi que pour le Nanisme. Il s'agit d'une maladie génétique qui touche notamment les chevaux miniatures. Elle est généralement causée par de la consanguinité et aujourd'hui, les chercheurs ont isolé 4 mutations du gène principal "Dwarfism ACAN D1, D2, D3 & D4". Si le cheptel de reproducteurs AMHA est majoritairement exempt d'individus atteints, il reste une grande part de chevaux miniatures porteurs sains. Lesquels, croisés ensemble, ont 25% de risques de produire un cheval atteint de nanisme. 

Tester est donc gage de sérieux, de transparence, et permet de faire des croisements éclairés.

Nous ne cachons rien des qualités et défauts de nos chevaux. Les dents de ceux à la vente sont systématiquement photographiées afin de vous permettre d'avoir une idée précise de l'état de la dentition. Bien que nos reproducteurs n'aient pas de soucis de dentition, nous ne sommes jamais à l'abri d'un "accident".

La reproduction se fait en liberté ou en main lorsque cela est nécessaire, la configuration de notre élevage nous permet d'avoir toujours un oeil sur nos troupeaux et ainsi noter avec assiduité les dates de chaleur et de sauts. Nos juments poulinent sous surveillance. Nous commençons à les rentrer environ 1 mois avant la date de poulinage présumée afin de surveiller l'évolution de la mamelle et des autres facteurs (forme du ventre, comportement au box...). Une caméra infrarouge et un système de "Breeder alert" nous permettent de limiter au maximum le risque d'absence pendant le poulinage.

En règle générale, nos juments font 2 poulains à la suite avant de prendre une année de repos pendant laquelle elles sont remises au Travail. Nous pensons qu'une poulinière en bonne santé, suivie annuellement par un ostéopathe et muscler régulièrement (dos, abdomen, croupe...) est une future maman qui aura plus de facilité au poulinage car son corps y aura été préparé avec soin. De plus, cette remise progressive au travail nous permet aussi de consolider nos relations avec elles et ainsi avoir des juments sereines et en confiance à la mise bas et pendant l'allaitement.

 

Les autres soins s'apparentent à ceux prodigués pour les chevaux de toutes les autres races.

En outre, les minis ne sont pas des animaux fragiles, ils ne contractent pas plus de maladie que les grands chevaux et sont très rustiques.

 

L'intégralité de nos chevaux ou poulains sont présents sur notre site afin d'entretenir une

transparence parfaite vis-à-vis de notre élevage. Nos photographies ne sont pas retouchées, et nos chevaux ne subissent pas de conditionnement (sous-nutrition, pose de neck wrap ou bodysweat...). Ils sont travaillés à pied de façon traditionnelle, dans le respect et la compréhension de l'animal.

Nos installations

 

Nous disposons actuellement de 2 ha 7 a divisés en plusieurs parcelles. Nos AMHA jouissent de 5 paddocks d'environ 2500 m² + un de 5000 m² qui nous permettent de faire un roulement pour avoir de l'herbe un peu plus de 6 mois par an. De plus, nous avons installés devant la maison un petit paddock de poulinage pour sortir les juments et leurs poulains nouveaux-nés les premiers jours. Nos chevaux vivent au pré toute l'année et sont rentrés en box en cas de fortes tempêtes ou plusieurs semaines avant et après les naissances pour les poulinières. Étant situés à 930 m d'altitude, nous profitons d'une neige abondante dans laquelle les chevaux adorent jouer. Ils ne sont rentrés que si le cumul de neige en hiver dépasse les 40 cm.

 

Une écurie de près de 200 m² est collée à la maison, qui nous permet d'avoir une dizaine de boxs minis dont deux boxs de poulinage (env. 8 m²) équipés de caméras et 8 boxs de 6 m², à terme nous souhaiterions en plus disposer de deux boxs pour nos grands.

 

Nos paddocks sont clôturés en bois/ruban électrique ou grillage à mouton/ruban électrique afin d'éviter au maximum une fugue et ainsi assurer sécurité et confort de nos chevaux.

Nous bénéficions d'une carrière de 15 x 25 m qui nous permet de travailler nos chevaux et ceux en pension ou débourrage tout au long de l'année.